What is a Regional Development Commission?

There are 9 Regional Development Commissions (RDCs) in Minnesota covering 63 counties.

RDCs were established in MN statute in 1969 to provide technical assistance to the local units of government in their region.

RDCs perform a variety of unique services based on the needs of their region.

RDCs partner with numerous state and federal agencies, obtaining and administering grants for programs and projects at the local level.

RDCs are governed by volunteer board of directors composed of elected officials and business and community leaders.

RDCs are recognized for their fiscal responsibility and capabilities in professional program management.